GES Student Awards Reception honors student achievements

Categories: News

On Thursday, May 4th the Geography and Earth Sciences Department held the annual student awards reception on the third floor of the Student Union. Over 80 guests were in attendance as the department honored both undergraduate and graduate students across all degree programs. Below is a list of all of the awards and the winners:

Undergraduate Award Winners

Earth and Environmental Science Outstanding Senior: Chandler Horton

Environmental Studies Outstanding Senior: Delaney Murphy

Geography Outstanding Senior: Justin Hensley and Tuyen Truong

Geology Outstanding Senior: McKenzie Miller

Meterology Oustanding Junior: Jared Caylor

Meteorology Outstanding Senior: Alex Finnerty

Forecasting Award: Zach Elsam

Atmosphere Award: Megan Kennedy
Graduate Award Winners


Earth Sciences MS student: Nora Vaughan

Outstanding Geography MA student: Jaiden Danecki

Outstanding Geography PhD student: Hannah Palko
Endowed Scholarships

Lola Miller Olsen Award: Jordin Hubbard

Bunker Land Group Scholarship: Melissa Harmon

Kirk S. Ashton Memorial Scholarship: Bless Dupeh

McCreary Memorial Award: Nora Vaughan

Will and Cara Harman Scholarship: Tarini Shukla

Congratulations to all of the award winners!

Below are pictures from the reception: